Which Girl Is Cora Joy?

Standard

My mother had this photo in her collection and had noted her guess on its reason for being in our family photos. She thought that it included my dad’s mother, Cora Joy.

My mother wrote on the back of this picture that it might be Cora Joy's high school picture (Hamilton High School).

My mother wrote on the back of this picture that it might be Cora Joy’s high school picture (Hamilton High School).

That would mean the photo is of Hamilton High School students in Greenwood County, Kansas. Cora was born in 1896, so this photo would be 1912 or around that time.

The problem is that I don’t know which one of the girls is my grandmother. I do have a portrait of Cora at age 16 and am trying to compare. In that photo, she wore a big bow so my eye immediately went to the girl on the right with the big bow. The hair part doesn’t look right though.

Cora Myrle Joy

Cora Myrle Joy

I’ve left both photos at their full size so you can compare the details.

One thought on “Which Girl Is Cora Joy?

  1. I’d posted this 7 months ago on another site. Here are my sister’s comments at that time:

    Karen -I thought she was the girl on the left in the second row, but maybe &marleysa is right. The girl she picked has curly hair like Cora has in the other photo, although she’s not as slim. Cora was slim and tall.
    Then again, maybe Mom’s guess about Cora being in the photo isn’t right! Maybe NONE of them is Cora!

    marleysa – Oh I think I spotted her right away! The girl behind the two boys- one boy sitting and one with lighter jersey kneeling behind him – just look at the girls hair, eyes, nose and small mouth – nobody else fit all those points. In the second row from the front- the fourth girl from the left.

    Like

Leave a Reply

